Trafford 10k Elite Fields

Ben Connor and Laura Weightman headline this years Trafford 10k with a star studded line up expected.

Traditionally one of the fastest 10k road races in the country, Dave Norman has once again brought together a stellar field, with Olympians, British Champions and international athletes lining up on Sunday 10th March with Run North West continuing the legacy of this well celebrated race.

Following the initial postponement of the 2018 race due to heavy snowfall across the UK, it was Marc Scott (Richmond & Zetland) who triumphed ahead of Scotland’s Andrew Butchart at the rearranged event in September with Stockport’s Jess Piasecki winning the women’s race in 32:51.

With previous winners including Chris Thompson, Nick McCormick and Tom Lancashire, this years men’s field doesn’t disappoint and is led by Team New Balance Manchester’s Ben Connor. The Derby AC runner is looking to make a winning return to action following a long lay off with injury and has a 10,000m personal best of 28:14 set in 2018. Connor will face a stiff challenge from the field behind, which includes Mo Abu-Rezeq who took victory at the inaugural Alderley Edge 5-Mile race in 2016 and has a personal best of 29:11, Irish National cross country champion Kevin Dooney, marathon runner Kevin Seaward who placed fourth in the 2018 Commonwealth Games in Australia, Welsh Commonwealth Games representative Andy Davies, Newham’s John Beattie with a 10,000 best of 28:32, last years third place finisher Dejene Gezimu and Gezimu’s Liverpool Harriers teammate Danny Cliffe.

Following a flurry of fast times at the recent Armagh 5k, Nigel Martin who clocked a personal best of 13:53 is expected to be in the mix for the top prize along with Jack Gray (Cambridge & Coleridge) who was a second ahead of the Sale Harrier in Ireland.

Joining the British charge is Swedish athlete Mikael Ekvall and Dutch runner Bart Van Nunen. Ekvall has a 10,000m personal best of 28:31 with Van Nunen fresh off a personal best of 28:57 at the recent Dutch 10k championships in Schoorl.

The women’s race promises to be an exciting contest with 2016 winner and Run North West employee Eli Kirk lining up against Laura Weightman, Beth Potter and Rosie Clarke.

Weightman who represented Team GB at the 2012 Olympics in London will look to improve on her personal best of 32:31 set when winning the Ribble Valley 10k in 2017 and comes into the race in good form following a 15:28 clocking at the recent Herculis 5K in Monaco, however it’s fellow Olympian Beth Potter who boasts the fastest time on paper with a 10k best of 32:07. The Scottish athlete punched her ticket to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio running 32:03 at Palo Alto in Stanford in 2016.

Rosie Clarke (Epsom & Ewell) is another athlete to keep an eye out for with the steeplechaser recently returning from high altitude training in Kenya and will look to improve her best of 33:03.

A full list of the leading entries can be found below. Action gets underway at 9:30am with a field of 950 runners expected to take part in the popular event. For full event information please check out this link.

Elite Men as of 20/02/19

  • Ben Connor 
  • Andy Davies 
  • Mikael Ekvall (Swe) 
  • Bart van Nunen (Hol) 
  • John Beattie 
  • Patrick Martin 
  • Kevin Dooney 
  • Mo Abu-Rezeq 
  • Dejene Gezimu 
  • Danny Cliffe  
  • Andy Benson 
  • Eoghan Totten 
  • Jack Millar
  • Jay Ferns
  • Ronny Losoa 
  • Callum Davidson 
  • Jack Nixon 
  • Ricky Harvie
  • Alex Pointon
  • Ian Lawton
  • Jamie Taylor-Caldwell 
  • James Straw 
  • Ronny Wilson 
  • Lucian Allison 
  • Luke Betts 
  • Lewis Jagger 
  • Chris Richards 
  • Jack Gray 
  • Gavin Hill 
  • Josh Grace 
  • Belal Ahmed T
  • om Griffiths 
  • Joe Vis 
  • Nick Martin 
  • Christopher Busaileh 
  • Sam Hancox
  • Roger Poolman 
  • Owen Hind
  • David Devine
  • Marc Hobbs
  • Guy Smith
  • Chris Carpanini 
  • Chris Parr
  • Michael Kallenberg
  • Matt Bergin
  • Alistair Smith
  • Kojo Kyereme
  • Jack Morris
  • Paul Graham 
  • Michael Harty
  • Nigel Martin
  • Ben Riddell
  • Ricky Challinor
  • Chris Holdsworth 
  • Rob Danson 
  • Alex Lepretre 
  • Paulos Surafel 
  • Chris Greenwood 
  • Rob Scott
  • Rob Warner
  • Russell Bentley
  • Robbie Fitzgibbon 
  • Chris Perry 
  • Richard Horton 
  • Kevin Seawood
  • James Savage
  • George Lowry
  • Max Pickard
  • Luke Minns
  • Harry Poole
  • Will Fuller
  • George Beardmore
  • Ieuan Thomas
  • Pete Chambers
  • Steve Morris
  • Connor Dooney
  • Chris Durney
  • Nathan Marsh
  • Josh Woodcock-Shaw
  • Kris Lecher
  • William Onek
  • Sean Connon
  • Tom Charles
  • Matt Shaw
  • Michael Salter
  • Carl Smith
  • Adam Stacey
  • Thomas Straughan
  • Ben Fish
  • Mike Burrett 
  • George Corcoran 
  • Jake Richardson 
  • Sam Johnson 
  • Tom Merson 
  • Abdulqani Sharif

Elite Women as of 20/02/2019

  • Beth Potter
  • Laura Weightman
  • Rosie Clarke
  • Eli Kirk
  • Yngvild Kasperse (Nor)
  • Kirsty Longley
  • Laura Lombard
  • Becky Straw
  • Lucy Niemz
  • Clara Evans
  • Laura Hesketh
  • Sophie Crumly
  • Rebecca Johnson
  • Abigail Howarth
  • Lizzie Lee
  • Bronwen Owen
  • Elizabeth Renondeau
  • Katie Waugh
  • Danielle Hodgkinson